How to clear your Google history before it’s too late

On March 1, Google will implement its new privacy policy, which will mean that all the data it has collected about you and your search history and sites visited will be shared across all its applications including YouTube and Google+ and no longer be ring-fenced in the search silo.

Once in place, the new policy will mean that your potentially sensitive information that could reveal your location, interests, age, sexual orientation, religion, health concerns, and more will become available to all Google assets and not just search.

If you want to reduce the impact of this new policy, you need to remove all items from your Google Web History before the end of February and to disable Web History logging. The EFF has the how-to here. Alternatively, just log in to your Google account and go to this link – https://www.google.com/history/ – and click “Remove All Web History”. That will delete your recorded searches and disable recording of any future searches. You may have to click the link twice to ensure full deletion.

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail